Ocon wins while Vettel gets disqualified in one of the most chaotic and unpredictable races we’ve witnessed.

The 2021 Formula One Hungarian Grand Prix began with Lewis Hamilton on pole position, unsurprisingly – but tension was high all weekend, especially in the press conferences wth all the hard hitting questions thrown Max’s way following the controversial crash with Lewis last time out.

Controversy struck quickly, once again. Rain started to fall only 20 minutes prior to race start and it was mayhem into turn one with Valtteri Bottas misjudging his braking – leaving Max Verstappen and Lando Norris the victims, both cars picking up heavy damage.

A seperate incident also saw Lance Stroll take out Charles Leclerc with Daniel Riccairdo getting caught up in the chaos – all instigating a red flag.

Thanks to the two incidents the grid changed rapidly (and like we’ve never seen before), with Yuki Tsunoda now sitting in fifth place. Carlos Sainz got lucky going from 15th to fourth, Sebastian Vettel got from 10th to third, while Nicholas Latifi was in a very unfamiliar sixth.

Max’s car underwent lengthy repair work during the red flag session with considerable damage which would see his pace hampered throughout the remainder of the race.

Before the restart the field decided to do a last minute dash into the pit lane for slick tyres, while Hamilton stayed out – a gamble that soon cost him, as he had a solo start on the grid, followed by a pit stop for slicks a lap later, placing him at the back of the field. Amidst the chaos it was Esteban Ocon who came out on top, leading the race.

It was a breath of fresh air to witness the battle upfront between two unlikely contenders in Esteban Ocon and Sebastian Vettel, with an exciting fight further back between Mick Schumacher and George Russell. Meanwhile, Hamilton continued to surge through the field.

Ocon stopped on lap 37, with Vettel emerging from the pits in the fight for second, despite a less than ideal stop. Lewis Hamilton pitted for a fresh set of mediums on lap 48 in a bid to attack for the remainder of the race – that he did, and we were treated to some great contests between himself and Alonso.

He managed to catch Sainz in the final few laps, landing him a podium position. An impressive feat considering he was at 14th at one stage, but the decision by Mercedes to undercut paid off.

All eyes were on Esteban Ocon though, as he took his maiden F1 victory. Sebastian Vettel crossed the line second, however, he was disqualified post race after Aston Martin was unable to supply the required one-litre fuel sample from Sebastian Vettel’s car. That moved Lewis to second and Carlos Sainz in the Ferrari into third.

Pierre Gasly scored the fastest lap after a tremendous drive finishing in fifth. Nicholas Latifi got his best ever result in seventh, while his teammate in George Russell also got into the points with an eighth-place finish. Verstappen ended his race in ninth, scoring two points, but it’s Lewis that heads into the summer break with a eight-point lead.

Did you enjoy the chaos of that race?


Pos Driver Team
1. Esteban Ocon Alpine Renault
2. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes-AMG
3. Carlos Sainz Ferrari
4. Fernando Alonso Alpine Renault
5. Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri-Honda
6. Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri-Honda
7. Nicholas Latifi Williams-Mercedes
8. George Russell Williams-Mercedes
9. Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing-Honda
10. Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari
11. Daniel Ricciardo McLaren-Mercedes
12. Mick Schumacher Haas-Ferrari
13. Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari

Did not finish: Nikita Mazepin, Lando Norris, Valtteri Bottas, Sergio Perez, Charles Leclerc, Lance Stroll

Disqualified: Sebastian Vettel

2021 Driver Standings

Pos Driver Team Pts
1. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes-AMG 195
2. Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing-Honda 187
3. Lando Norris McLaren-Mercedes 113
4. Valtteri Bottas Mercedes-AMG 108
5. Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing-Honda 104
6 Carlos Sainz Ferrari 83
7. Charles Leclerc Ferrari 80
8. Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri-Honda 50
9. Daniel Ricciardo McLaren-Mercedes 50
10. Esteban Ocon Alpine Renault 39
11. Fernando Alonso Alpine Renault 38
12. Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin-Mercedes 30
13. Lance Stroll Aston Martin-Mercedes 18
14. Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri-Honda 18
15. Nicholas Latifi Williams-Mercedes 6
16. George Russell Williams-Mercedes 4
17. Kimi Räikkönen Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari 2
18. Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari 1
18. Mick Schumacher Haas-Ferrari 0
19. Nikita Mazepin Haas-Ferrari 0

2021 Constructor Standings

Pos Team Pts
1. Mercedes-AMG 303
2. Red Bull Racing-Honda 291
3. McLaren 163
4. Ferrari 163
5. Alpine-Renault 77
6. AlphaTauri-Honda 68
6. Aston Martin Racing-Mercedes 48
8. Williams-Mercedes 10
9. Alfa Romeo Racing-Ferrari 3
10. Haas-Ferrari 0

Posted by WordPress Guru